A Blog Migration and a Contest

I finished transferring my blog posts from Open Salon. I will leave the old blog intact; I just won’t update it.

I did this because I have more flexibility over here. My avatar doesn’t pop up with each post. The statistical doodads are subtler or altogether absent. This will be a plain old-fashioned blog.  A good-old-days type of thing (except when I’m lamenting the past, present, or future, which I do fairly often). Whoever wants to read and comment on my pieces is welcome to do so. (Of course I reserve the right to delete any spam or inappropriate comments.)

Most but not all of the posts are about education. Some are satirical.

I took the picture in the heading. I welcome readers to guess where I took it. The first to guess correctly will receive a copy of my book, Republic of Noise: The Loss of Solitude in Schools and Culture.

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. I saw the pingback on my CK Blog from my post and thought, “I didn’t know she had a regular blog, too! How did I not know this?” But then I read this post and realized this is actually new. Consider me subscribed 🙂

    Reply
  2. Thank you, Rachel! You’re the first person to leave a comment; I take that as a good omen.

    Reply
  3. Aaron

     /  August 26, 2012

    Let’s see–is the picture taken in Alaska?

    I already have a copy of the book; I’m just playing for fun.

    Reply
  4. Melissa

     /  August 27, 2012

    Lake Baikal?

    Reply
  5. Aaron

     /  August 27, 2012

    Ushuaia, Argentina?

    I just remembered you went there, and your website has a link to an Ushuaia webcam.

    Reply
  6. Ushuaia it is!

    Reply
  7. Aaron

     /  August 28, 2012

    I’m thrilled to win. A rarity for me. Will you sign my copy of your book?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

